Chưa được phân loại

List of NCAA Division I men’s basketball champions

The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament is a single-elimination Championship for men’s college basketball teams from the United States.

It decides the champion of Division I, the very best level of play in the NCAA, along with the press frequently describes the winner as the national champion of college basketball. [2][3] The NCAA Tournament has been held yearly since 1939, and its field climbed from eight teams at the beginning to sixty-five teams by 2001; as of 2011, sixty-eight teams get involved in the tournament. Teams may gain invitations by winning a conference tournament or receiving an at-large bidding from a 10-person committee. The semifinals of this tournament are known as the Final Four and so are held at a different city each year, along with the championship game; Indianapolis, the city in which the NCAA is based, will host the Final Four every five years until 2040. Each winning university receives a rectangular, gold-plated trophy made from wood.
The initial NCAA Tournament was coordinated by the National Association of Basketball Coaches. Oregon won the inaugural championship, beating Ohio State 46–33 in the first championship match. Before the 1941 tournament, control of the event was given to the NCAA. In the early years of the tournament, it was considered less important than the National Invitation Tournament (NIT), a New York City-based occasion ] Teams were able to compete in both events at precisely the same year, and three of these who did so–Utah in 1944, Kentucky in 1949, and City College of New York (CCNY) at 1950–won the NCAA Championship. The 1949–50 CCNY team won both tournaments (defeating Bradley in both finals), and is the only school basketball team to do this feat. [14] From the mid-1950s, the NCAA Championship became the more prestigious of the two events, and in 1971 that the NCAA barred universities from playing other tournaments, like the NIT, if they had been invited into the NCAA Championship. The 2013 championship won by Louisville was the very first men’s basketball national title to be vacated by the NCAA following the school and its trainer at the moment, Rick Pitino, were implicated in a 2015 sex scandal involving recruits.
The University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) was the most prosperous college from the NCAA Tournament, winning 11 national titles. Ten of those championships came during a 12-year stretch from 1964 to 1975. UCLA also holds the record for the successive championships, winning seven in a row from 1967 to 1973. Kentucky gets the second-most names, together with eight. North Carolina is third with six championships, while Duke and Indiana follow five each. Virginia is the most recent winner, having defeated Texas Tech in the final of the 2019 tournament. Among head coaches, John Wooden is the one time leader with 10 championships; he coached UCLA throughout their period of succeeding from the 1960s and 1970s. Duke’s Mike Krzyzewski is second one time with five names.

Read more:

Trả lời

Email của bạn sẽ không được hiển thị công khai. Các trường bắt buộc được đánh dấu *